Author Archives: kathymacmillan

Saturday’s Storytime in the Garden Postponed

Tomorrow’s Storytime in the Garden at The Ivy Bookshop has been postponed due to expected storms. Keep an eye out for a new date, and stay dry, everyone!

Posted in Upcoming events | Leave a comment

Register now for ASL ABCs Online Storytime

ASL ABCs: Autumn Signs hosted by Chesterfield County Public Library Wednesday, October 20, 2021 10:30 AM Eastern Sing, sign, read, and play together in this interactive online storytime for the whole family!¬†Register at https://tinyurl.com/ASLABCsAutumn Online via Zoom. Presented in spoken … Continue reading

Posted in American Sign Language, Little Hands Signing series, Nita's Day, Nita's First Signs, Upcoming events | Leave a comment

Signing this Sunday at the MD Renaissance Festival

Sunday, October 10 from 11 AM-5 PM: Maryland Renaissance Festival: Visiting Author at Page After Page Bookstore Come learn to write your name in the language of the gods and get your signed copy of Sword and Verse and Dagger … Continue reading

Posted in American Sign Language, Dagger and Coin, Nita's Day, Nita's First Signs, Sword and Verse, Upcoming events | 1 Comment

Read This!: SET ME FREE by Ann Clare LeZotte

Set Me Free by Ann Clare LeZotte Summary: Three years after being kidnapped and rendered a “live specimen” in a cruel experiment to determine the cause of her deafness, fourteen year old Mary Lambert is summoned from her home in … Continue reading

Posted in Read This, Recommended Reading | Tagged | Leave a comment

Hands Up!: Live ASL Practice for Beginners begins September 17!

Hands Up!: Live ASL Practice for Library Staff (Beginners) Fridays, September 17-October 22 from 1:30-2:30 PM Eastern/12:30-1:30 PM Central/11:30AM-12:30 PM Mountain/10:30-11:30 AM Pacific Online sessions via Zoom (6 weeks, 1 hour per week) Learn how to improve your service to … Continue reading

Posted in American Sign Language, eCourses and Webinars | Leave a comment

Signing this Saturday at the MD Renaissance Festival

I’ll be signing at the Maryland Renaissance Festival in Crownsville, MD this Saturday! Hope to see you there! Saturday, September 11 from 11 AM-5 PM: Maryland Renaissance Festival: Visiting Author at Page After Page Bookstore Come learn to write your … Continue reading

Posted in American Sign Language, Dagger and Coin, Nita's Day, Nita's First Signs, Sword and Verse, Upcoming events | Leave a comment

Bring some ASL to your storytime or the classroom

Add some American Sign Language to your storytime toolbox with these upcoming webinars! Little Hands Signing Professional Development: Autumn Signs Wednesday, September 8, 2021 at 2-3 PM Eastern/1-2 PM Central/12-1 PM Mountain/11 AM-12 PM Pacific.¬†1 hour, Online via Zoom Add … Continue reading

Posted in American Sign Language, eCourses and Webinars, Professional Development, Resources for Teachers and Librarians, Upcoming events, webinars | Leave a comment

Register now for Little Hands Signing for Families!

Little Hands Signing for Families Fridays, September 17-October 22 from 9:30 AM-10:30 AM Eastern/8:30 AM-9:30 Central/7:30 AM-8:30 AM Mountain/6:30 AM-7:30 AM Pacific¬† Online sessions via Zoom (6 weeks, 1 hour per week) Sing, sign, read, and play together as you … Continue reading

Posted in American Sign Language, Upcoming events | Leave a comment

Fall webinars open for registration! Save 25% through August 31!

Get 25% off any of the following webinars and webinar series when you register by August 31 using coupon code EARLYBIRD! Group rates also available! Contact me for details. Click on the graphics below for more information and registration.

Posted in American Sign Language, eCourses and Webinars, Professional Development, Resources for Teachers and Librarians, Upcoming events, webinars | Leave a comment

Signing with Children eCourse Begins August 23! Register now!

Sign Language for Children in Storytime or in the Classroom: A Practical Guide eCourse Asynchronous eCourse beginning Monday, August 23, 2021 (6 weeks of lessons; Participants will have a total of 12 weeks to complete course materials) Instructor: Kathy MacMillan, … Continue reading

Posted in American Sign Language, eCourses and Webinars, Professional Development, Resources for Teachers and Librarians, Upcoming events | Leave a comment