Young Adult

Board Books/Picture Books  |   Middle Grade   |  Young Adult  | 

Parenting Resources  |  Educator/Librarian Resources  |   Articles

“Rich in politics, intrigue, and betrayal, Dagger and Coin  is a complex feminist fantasy featuring a tough and prickly ex-princess that I couldn’t help but adore.” – Heidi Heilig, author of The Girl from Everywhere

Kirkus Review calls Dagger and Coin a “riveting fantasy sequel…Soraya’s compelling narration makes the minutiae of management as thrilling as the betrayals, murders, and desperate gambits propelling the plot…A fine balance of political intrigue, relationship drama, and thoughtful characterization.” Read the full review.

Booklist says: “MacMillan builds tension slowly, and soon readers will be locked into the wrangling for power and influence that goes into forging a new foundation.” Read the full review.

Soraya Gamo was meant to be queen of Qilara until an Arnath slave rebellion destroyed the monarchy. Now, improbably, she sits on the new Ruling Council beside her former enemies, finally holding the political power she always wanted – but over a nation in ruins. Can Soraya, raised to be a proper Qilarite lady, learn to be a true leader? Or will the sins of her past forever haunt the footsteps of her future? Order now!

Read a sample at Barnes and Noble Readouts.

Dagger and Coin news.

 

In a sweeping fantasy that award-winning author Franny Billingsley calls “fascinating and unique,” debut author Kathy MacMillan weaves palace intrigue and epic world-building to craft a tale for fans of Rae Carson and Megan Whalen Turner. Available in hardcover, paperback, e-book, and audio.

Book Trailers

Read the first 9 chapters at Epic Reads!

Audiobook sample

Extras

Sword and Verse News

Coming in paperback September 4, 2018!