Coming October 9, 2018 from HarperTeen:

“Rich in politics, intrigue, and betrayal, Dagger and Coin  is a complex feminist fantasy featuring a tough and prickly ex-princess that I couldn’t help but adore.” – Heidi Heilig, author of The Girl from Everywhere

“A fine balance of political intrigue, relationship drama, and thoughtful characterization.” Kirkus Review

“MacMillan builds tension slowly, and soon readers will be locked into the wrangling for power and influence that goes into forging a new foundation.” – Booklist

“MacMillan has created a complex, nuanced world. Strong female characters taking the lead in a fast-paced plot will appeal to fans of fantasy, mythology, and works by Kristin Cashore…Those who haven’t read the first title in the series will not be disappointed or confused. A good choice for fantasy shelves.” – School Library Journal

Soraya Gamo was meant to be queen of Qilara until an Arnath slave rebellion destroyed the monarchy. Now, improbably, she sits on the new Ruling Council beside her former enemies, holding the political power she always wanted – but over a nation in ruins. Can Soraya, raised to be a proper Qilarite lady, learn to be a true leader? Or will the sins of her past forever haunt the footsteps of her future? Find out more and pre-order.

 

Available now in hardcover, paperback, ebook, and audio from HarperTeen:

Finalist, 2017 Compton Crook Award

In a sweeping fantasy that award-winning author Franny Billingsley calls “fascinating and unique,” debut author Kathy MacMillan weaves palace intrigue and epic world-building to craft a tale for fans of Rae Carson and Megan Whalen Turner. Raisa, enslaved in Qilara since the age of six, gets the extraordinary chance to learn the forbidden language of the gods. As she uncovers its connection to her own past, she finds herself torn between helping her people and protecting the man she loves. Find out more and order.

 

 

Available now from Familius Press:

Nita's First Signs final coverNita knows just how to tell Mommy and Daddy what she needs. All she has to do is use her signs!

Nita’s First Signs demonstrates the value and fun of learning sign language for ALL infants, toddlers children AND adults, regardless of whether they are Deaf or hearing or hard of hearing.” – Marlee Matlin, award-winning Deaf actress, author, and activist    Find out more and order.