Bring some ASL to your storytime or the classroom

Add some American Sign Language to your storytime toolbox with these upcoming webinars!

Brightly colored autumn leaves appear against a blue background with a photo of a smiling white woman. Text reads: Little Hands Signing Professional Development Webinar: Autumn Signs. Wednesday, September 8. 2-3 PM Eastern. Presented by KathyMacMillan, NIC, MLS. Register at StoriesByHand.com/webinars

Little Hands Signing Professional Development: Autumn Signs

Wednesday, September 8, 2021 at 2-3 PM Eastern/1-2 PM Central/12-1 PM Mountain/11 AM-12 PM Pacific. 1 hour, Online via Zoom

Add some American Sign Language to your storytime toolbox! In this interactive session, we’ll focus on basic ASL vocabulary for autumn sights and activities. Learn how to incorporate ASL into storytime songs, rhymes, and stories in a respectful and effective way. Certificate of completion available upon request with successful completion of post-test.

Pricing:

  • Individual: $40 (includes live webinar and recording access for 30 days after the live event)
  • Group rates available for groups of 10 or more. Contact me for details.
  • Optional Add-on: Individualized video feedback: $25. Submit a video (up to 10 min) demonstrating your planned signing activities for storytime and receive individualized feedback on sign choices, production, and more from Kathy MacMillan via return video within 14  days. Must be used within 6 months of purchase.

About the Instructor:

Kathy MacMillan is a nationally certified American Sign Language interpreter, librarian, and storyteller. She is the author of the Little Hands Signing series from Familius Press, Little Hands and Big Hands: Children and Adults Signing Together (Huron Street Press) as well as many other books for children, teens, librarians, and educators.

Register for Little Hands Signing Professional Development: Autumn Signs.

 


Yellow and red leaves are scattered against a wooden background. Little Hands Signing Professional Development: Group Coaching Session | Put some ASL in your storytime toolbox! Presented by Kathy MacMillan, NIC, M.L.S. Wednesday, September 15, 2021, 2:00-3:15 PM Eastern. Online via Zoom. Individuals: $40. Group rates available. StoriesByHand.com/webinars

Little Hands Signing Professional Development: Group Coaching Session

Wednesday, September 15, 2021, 2:00-3:15 PM Eastern/1:00-2:15 PM Central/12:00-1:15 PM Mountain/11:00AM-12:15PM Pacific. 1 hour and 15 minutes, Online via Zoom.

Here’s your chance to get live feedback on your storytime activities using American Sign Language! In this interactive small-group session, each participant will demonstrate a story, song, rhyme or other activity they plan to use with signs in storytime, and storyteller and nationally certified ASL interpreter Kathy MacMillan will give live feedback on vocabulary choices, sign production, presentation, and introducing ASL vocabulary in context. Expand your storytime toolbox with ideas from your peers and enhance your storytime confidence!

Each session is capped at 12 participants, so register now!

Pricing:

  • Individual: $40 (includes live webinar and recording access for 30 days after the live event)
  • Group rates available for groups of 10 or more. Contact me for details.
  • Optional Add-on: Individualized video feedback: $25. Submit a video (up to 10 min) demonstrating your planned signing activities for storytime and receive individualized feedback on sign choices, production, and more from Kathy MacMillan via return video within 14  days. Must be used within 6 months of purchase.

Register for Little Hands Signing Professional Development: Group Coaching Session


About the Instructor:

Kathy MacMillan is a nationally certified American Sign Language interpreter, librarian, and storyteller. She is the author of the Little Hands Signing series from Familius Press, Little Hands and Big Hands: Children and Adults Signing Together (Huron Street Press) as well as many other books for children, teens, librarians, and educators.

See all upcoming webinars.

Interested in a session just for your library? Find out more about booking a private webinar for your group here!

This entry was posted in American Sign Language, eCourses and Webinars, Professional Development, Resources for Teachers and Librarians, Upcoming events, webinars. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.