Hands Up!: Live ASL Practice for Library Staff (Beginner and Intermediate Levels)

2 NEW WEBINAR SERIES!

Get live, hands-on practice with American Sign Language vocabulary for library settings and improve your ability to communicate with deaf and hard of hearing patrons!

Beginner: 

Tuesdays, March 30-May 4, 2021 from 10-11AM Eastern/9-10AM Central/8-9AM Mountain/7-8 AM Pacific   |   Online sessions via Zoom (6 weeks, 1 hour per week)

Learn how to improve your service to deaf and hard-of-hearing patrons in this interactive series. We’ll cover basic information about American Sign Language and Deaf Culture, as well as specific vocabulary for the library setting. Each session will build on those before it to reinforce your knowledge and expand your ability to communicate with members of the Deaf community, and you’ll get plenty of interactive signing practice! Recording access will be available to those who cannot attend the sessions live.

Who it’s for: Library staff who are new to ASL; Library staff who have taken an ASL class but are unfamiliar with library-specific vocabulary; Library staff who have learned basic ASL library vocabulary in the past and need a refresher.

Register for Hands Up!: Live ASL Practice for Library Staff Beginner Series Now!


Intermediate:

Tuesdays, March 30-May 4, 2021 from 1:30-2:30 PM Eastern/12:30-1:30 PM Central/11:30 AM-12:30 PM Mountain/10:30-11:30 AM Pacific   |   Online sessions via Zoom (6 weeks, 1 hour per week)

Practice your ASL for the library setting in these interactive sessions! The instructor will design sessions to meet the specific review and practice needs of participants. Join us to reinforce your library signing skills and increase your confidence in your ability to communicate with members of the Deaf community. Recording access will be available to those who cannot attend the sessions live.

Who it’s for: Those who have taken ASL for Library Staff eCourses through the American Library Association; Anyone who already knows some library vocabulary in ASL and wishes to polish their signing skills.

Note: If you have taken ASL courses before, but are not familiar with vocabulary specific to the library setting, we recommend you register for the Beginner session rather than Intermediate.

Register for Hands Up!: Live ASL Practice for Library Staff Intermediate Series Now!


Pricing:

  • Individual: $240 (includes live webinar and recording access for the for the 6-week series)
  • Group rate (10 people): $2000 (includes live webinar and recording access for the for the 6-week series)

Certificate of completion available upon request with successful completion of post-test.


About the Instructor:

Kathy MacMillan (she/her) is a nationally certified American Sign Language interpreter, instructor, consultant, writer and signing storyteller. Kathy is the author of the Little Hands Signing board book series (Familius Press) and Little Hands and Big Hands: Children and Adults Signing Together (Huron Street Press), as well as many other books for children, teens, and adults. She has worked in public libraries for over twenty years, and was the Library/Media Specialist at the Maryland School for the Deaf, Columbia Campus from 2001 to 2005. Kathy presents American Sign Language programs for families and workshops for workshops and educators. She also serves on the board of Deaf Camps, Inc., a nonprofit organization that provides camps for deaf and hard-of-hearing children and children learning American Sign Language. She lives in Baltimore, MD.

 

This entry was posted in American Sign Language, eCourses and Webinars, Resources for Teachers and Librarians, webinars. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.