Register now for The Secrets of Show, Don’t Tell!

3-Webinar Series: The Secrets of Show, Don’t Tell with Kathy MacMillan

Tuesdays at 7 PM Eastern/6 PM Central/5 PM Mountain/4 PM Pacific (Each webinar is 90 minutes long)

  • Part 1: January 12, 2021
  • Part 2: January 19, 2021
  • Part 3: January 26, 2021

SCBWI Members: $40   ~   Nonmembers: $75

Registrants will receive a link to the recording the day after the live webinars. Recordings of all three webinars will be available registrants though February 27, 2021. Registration will remain open until January 26, 2021. If you register after the series has begun, you will receive links to the recordings for the sessions you missed.

Optional Add-on critiques:

  • First Page Critique: $25
  • Query Letter Critique: $25
  • 10-Page Manuscript Critique: $70

It’s the feedback every writer dreads: your manuscript has too much telling, and not enough showing. But what can you do about it?  Kathy MacMillan breaks down what it really means to “show, don’t tell” in relation to every aspect of your writing from character development to plot, and in every stage from manuscript to pitch. She’ll share a dozen “Showing Secrets” – actionable revision steps that you can use right away to breathe new life into your writing.

About the presenter:

Kathy MacMillan (she/her) is a writer, nationally certified American Sign Language interpreter, librarian,  and signing storyteller.  She writes picture books, children’s nonfiction, and middle grade and young adult fiction. Her debut young adult novel, Sword and Verse (2016) was a finalist for the Compton Crook Award. She has also published eight resource books for educators, librarians, and parents. Kathy serves as the co-Regional Advisor for the Maryland/Delaware/West Virginia Region of the Society for Children’s Book Writers and Illustrators.  She lives in Baltimore, MD. Find her online at www.kathymacmillan.com or on Twitter and Instagram at @kathys_quill.  Critiquing: Query letters and manuscript pages for the following categories: Picture book manuscript – fiction; Picture book manuscript – nonfiction; Early reader/chapter book fiction; Early reader/chapter book nonfiction; Middle grade fiction; Middle grade nonfiction; Young adult fiction; Young adult nonfiction; Informational fiction.

Register now.

 

 

This entry was posted in eCourses and Webinars, On Writing, Professional Development, Upcoming events, webinars. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.